The Islamic Calendar

The Islamic calendar is dictated by the phases of the moon. Each month starts with the sighting of the crescent moon, which is about two days after the new moon. A lunar month is on average about twenty-nine and a half days, and to allow for this the Islamic calendar alternate between 29 and 30 days. A lunar year adds up to 354 days only, and as such, the Islamic religious year gently drifts through the seasons over the years.

Islamic Calendar:

1  Muharram

2  Safar

3  Rabi I  (Rabi al-awwal)

4  Rabi II  (Rabi al-thani)

5  Jumada I  (Jumada al-awwal)

6  Jumada II  (Jumada al-thani)

7  Rajab

8  Sha’ban

9 Ramadan

10 Shawwal

11 Dhu al-Qa’da

12 Dhu al-Hijja

It is, currently (2014), year 1435 in the Hijri or Islamic calendar. Year one was calculated to correspond with Muhammad’s (PBUH) emigration from Mecca to Medinah (622AD). The suffix A.H. is used after Muslim dates and indicates After Hijra.

* Please note that there are different spellings for some of the months of the Islamic calendar